elisabeth andrée

about crochet

candy color scarf – part 1

12 Comments

between crocheting my new summer blanket and cleaning up dirt and paint in the garden (the exterior of the apartment building i live gets a facelift but what a mess that gives!), i started on a smaller project: a scarf of candy colors.

candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée

 

materials

– hook size 3 mm
– micro bamboo schachenmayr nomotta: 50% viscose bamboo – 50% acrylic – 50 gr, 145 m,- shades: aqua, orchid, apricot, vanilla: 1 skein each and grey: 2 skeins

stitches (american english):
  • ch = chain
  • ss = slip stitch
  • sc = single crochet
  • dc = double crochet
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée

….

tutorial for the scarf

if you like to crochet this scarf too, here is how you can.the pattern for the little squares is japanese, but i don’t know anymore where i found it.
the first two rows are quite similar to the squares of my colorful blanket. see my “great” drawing.

diagram for candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
  • row 1 for the scarf is the same as row 1 on the drawing 
  • row 2 is almost the same but now you crochet 1 chain between every 2 dc groups
  • row 3 is different, but very easy (as you can see on the photo above):

a. if you don’t change color: ss in 2nd dc of last 2 dc group, 1 ch, 1 sc in first 1 ch space, 5 ch, *1 sc in next 1 ch space, 5 ch* repeat between * * till end of row, ss to first sc.

b. if you start this row with a new color: attach to any 1 ch space, 1 sc into the same 1 ch space, 5 ch, *1 sc in next 1 ch space, 5 ch*, repeat between * * till end of row, ss to first sc. 

 

another technique when changing colors

i show you how i work when changing colors, maybe you like to see it. since a few years i use this way and it gives a much neater result. look at the difference between my work now and the bottom of a bag i’ve made a few years ago. that is the way of changing colors you learn from crochet books and patterns but personally i prefer the sewing method. if you need more explanation, please let me know.

right side
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
wrong side
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée
candy color scarf by elisabeth andrée

 

row 4.

how to make row 4 you will see here next week, so please come back to my blog.

tutorial candy color scarf

  1. part 2 – row 4 and how you can attach the squares together
  2. part 3 – the edge – ready to wear 
  3. part 4 – yarn

12 thoughts on “candy color scarf – part 1

  1. Hello Fernanda, Unfortunately I cannot leave a message on your blog, so I try it this way. I read that you have problems with shoulders and back. Too bad for you, and I hope you’ll recover quickly. Your food looks delicious ….

  2. Thank you ddbell.

  3. I like the choice of colours

  4. Hello Fernanda, <br/>Love it what you have done!I tried to leave a message on your blog , but I have none of the profiles. Therefore, I do it this way. It is fine you have put a link to my blog next to your photo’s. Again your work is looking really good, very nice choice of colors too. <br/>Bye for now.

  5. Hello Fernanda, Love it what you have done!I tried to leave a message on your blog , but I have none of the profiles. Therefore, I do it this way. It is fine you have put a link to my blog next to your photo’s. Again your work is looking really good, very nice choice of colors too. Bye for now.

  6. Thanks for answering my comment! My blog direction is  http://fernandatries.blogspot.com

  7. Hello Fernanda, thanks for you’re so very kind comment. I would like to visit your blog too, please let me know where I can find it?

  8. I fell in love with this project and I had to make one. I posted the link to your site on my blog. If there’s a problem just tell me and I remove it. Thanks for the tutorials!

  9. I think this scarf is absolutely beautiful Elisabeth and I look forward to making it sometime (very) soon. Thank you for the diagram, which I find so much easier to follow, than written instructions.

  10. I just wanted to leave you a note and say I hope you are doing better. Will keep you in my prayers.

  11. Hello Susan, This day was not a good day for me but your words make me feel way better. So thank you so much and next week you will find how to put the scarf together.

  12. Love the scarf and your colors==really feminine. Will be back for how to put it together,but would be back anyway because I love your blog.