elisabeth andrée

about crochet

work in progress: crochet opaline blanket

16 Comments

welcome, so kind of you to visit my blog! 

last week i didn’t have to show you much, so i skipped the work in progress post. 

the opaline blanket is finished, regarding the crochet work and now it is time for sewing on small crochet motifs, beads and buttons and making embroidery stitches. on the picture you see small pieces of white paper that i’ve pinned onto the blanket so i can remember where i like to have the items. i think i need to work on my bed, because the blanket is too large for sitting at the table with it and the floor is hard to sit on for a longer time 😉 

photos below

if you like you can find more into about the stitch pattern that i use for the blanket here (pattern baby blanket) and here (info about the variation on the stitch pattern that i use for my current blanket).

the pattern for the square on the left you can find here and the squares on the right here.
used materials:
  • the opaline yarn is phildar impact 6 and i worked with hook size 6.5 mm.
  • the small squares are made with katia jaipur and hook size 1.75 mm.

over the past weeks, i have also made a few bags, but i’ll tell you about that another time.

hope the rest of the week is pleasant for you and i hope to see you soon!

.

16 thoughts on “work in progress: crochet opaline blanket

  1. I’m fascinated watching your blanket progress, really looking forward to seeing how it turns out

  2. Great color!! I love it!! It looks very…spring is coming!!! jajaja

  3. Je opaline deken is prachtig geworden!
    Voor zover ik kan zien lijkt het me de perfecte zomerdeken!
    Zo’n zomerdeken staat op mijn lijstje.
    Ik was al begonnen met losse vierkanten, maar zoals jij deze deken hebt gemaakt is misschien wel beter.
    Het garen waarmee ik was begonnen, blijkt niet meer verkrijgbaar 😦 , dus ik kan er sowieso niet mee verder. (Ik koop wel eens garen in een winkeltje waar ze nog bollen hebben die later niet meer leverbaar blijken te zijn. Een paar dagen in de week staat er iemand in dat zaakje die er niet voldoende vanaf weet. Ik vraag haar of ze bij willen bestellen, ze schrijft het braaf op, maar later blijkt dan dat het garen niet meer gemaakt wordt… )

    Mijn vraag is dan ook hoeveel garen jij gebruikt hebt bij deze deken.
    Ik wil mijn zomerdeken haken van Softfun 2426 (60% katoen, 40% acryl), dat is wel dunner dan Phildar Impact 6, dus het zegt niet alles, maar ik wil wel graag genoeg te bestellen.

    Ben benieuwd naar je versieringen!

    Groetjes, Estella

    • Hallo Estella,
      Dank voor je compliment en je vraag. De deken zoals ik het heb gehaakt geeft een ‘ruimtelijk’ effect, als je begrijpt wat ik bedoel.
      Ik heb van de Phildar Impact 6 ruim 18 bollen van 100 gram gebruikt. Op het label staat te lezen: 100% acryl – 100 gram = ca. 179 m, hknld grootte 5-5.6. Ik heb met 6,5 gewerkt en daardoor meer garen gebruikt.
      Op dit moment werk ik ook met softfun, het is heerlijk om mee te haken, maar ik heb de ervaring dat het na het wassen heel erg hard en stug kan worden. Ik werk daarom met hknld 4,5 en hopelijk blijft het zacht. De babydeken heb ik met Phildar Cabotine gemaakt en dat lijkt erg op softfun.
      Hopelijk heb je iets aan de info, succes met het kopen van geschikt garen en het maken van je deken!
      Groetjes,
      Andrėe

      • Dank je wel voor je uitgebreide antwoord.
        Ik zit nu erg te twijfelen welk garen ik zal nemen.
        Cabotine lijkt me op zich wel een goede keus, maar ik had in mijn hoofd een crèmekleurige zomerdeken en Cabotine is er niet in crème/gebroken wit.
        Als katoen-acryl garen is ook nog Scheepjes Stonewashed, dat is er wel in crème.
        De gewone Stonewashed (dus niet de XL) lijkt vergelijkbaar met Cabotine, qua dikte etc.
        Pfff… Zo jammer dat er hier geen wolwinkel in de buurt is, die een grote collectie heeft. Dan zou ik beter kunnen vergelijken.
        Groetjes, Estella

        • Stonewashed is dunner dan softfun en cabotine en geeft een ander effect. Het is wel heel mooi garen! Ik denk dat je softfun gewoon kunt gebruiken, maar dat je het beste een halve maat haaknaald groter kunt nemen. Wat je ook doet, veel succes!

  4. Dear Andrée, I love the blanket and this colour. Great, really. At the moment I don’t crochet – I have to work so hard I forget to crochet something. I hope it will be better soon. Have a nice time, hope you are well. Greetings, Sabine.

    • Dear Sabine,
      Glad to hear from you, I missed you! Hope you are fine too? Not nice that you have to work so hard, that you have no time or are too tired for crocheting. Hope for better times dear! Take care! Andrée

  5. well, I hope it will not take a long time to complete all the details for your blanket….. my curiosity is very high!!!!!
    xxxxxx Ale

  6. Ah ….. your crochet is just perfect, in fact I love the blanket as it is, even without the trimmings – but I’m sure it will even be more beautiful after you’ve had a play with it! Can’t wait to see it finished! Marianne xx

  7. That’s an amazing blanket! And I love the little blue squares!