elisabeth andrée

about crochet

renée’s sofa blanket

19 Comments

my cousin renée and i are the two girls in the family with the boy’s names (renée and andrée), well we are now adult women of course. she herself is a creative person and lately i noticed that she is interested in recycling jeans.

not so long ago, we were in a small shop in the hague and there was a large basket full of doilies, not vintage doilies but probably made by women who live in the nearby retirement home. i bought two to make bowls of, one for renée and one for me, but it did not happen. 

denim

about a week ago i remembered that there were 12 balls denim colored acrylic yarn in my closet, waiting for a good project and see: a sofa blanket for renée.

 

a doily with pizzazz

it is a narrow blanket made of double crochets only until the yarn was on with just the right size to fit on a couch, adorned with one of the doilies and a wool white edge. the doily i have sewn onto the blanket with pastel colored yarn and also some stitches in neon colors to give it a bit more pizzazz.

first i wanted to sew the doily onto the blanket with white thread, but i remembered the post on tiff’s dottie angel and i found the embroidery stitches with colored yarn a prettier option.

doily with embroidery stitches on renée’s sofa blanket. the blanket and the doily i washed separately, the doily i then ironed while it was still damp and only then sewn onto the blanket.

 

enjoy renée!

 

have a lovely weekend everyone and until next time!

.

ps. i join these great parties:

 

sofa blanket adorned with a doily and embroidery stitches

19 thoughts on “renée’s sofa blanket

  1. I think your cousin will be more than happy to receive such gorgeous blanket!!!!! WOW!!! So thoughtful and pretty!!!! Really love the doily embroidered with the neon colours!!!!! Bravissima!!!!
    xxxxxx Ale, happy weekend

  2. So pretty, what a lovely idea. I love the embroidery colours, really makes the whole thing zing

  3. I don’t think it would have occurred to me to use neon colors to stitch the doily on – but you did and it really makes the project stand out! Love it!

  4. The coloured embroidery is really awesome. It really pops! The blanket looks perfectly size. We always have a throw or blanket nearby in case we’re curling up for little naps in front of the TV on the sofa!

  5. Is amazing how doing something as simple as using some colored yarn on a doily does SO much to enhance a project. I’m jealous! She’s going to love it.

  6. Hi Andrée,
    Again an impressive project!
    I like the combination of sturdy denim and the elegance of the lacy crocheted doily.
    And with the added neon colors you gave the sofa blanket a kind of signature that shows that it is really made by you!
    Bye!

  7. Oh my gosh – I love it! The extra embroidery work you did on the doily is really pretty. Your cousin is a lucky lady! 🙂

  8. This is absolutely gorgeous! I’ve never even thought about using doilies as an embellishment for blankets or scarfs or anything. Thanks for the idea!

  9. I love it!! I have several old doilies that grandmothers from both sides of our family have made and passed down to us. This is a brilliant idea!! I always look forward to your site and you are so creative. One question….what is a “hague”?
    Tammy from Springfield, MO

    • Hello Tammy,

      Thank you for your sweet response:) How lovely you have doilies of both grandmothers, those are treasures I think and I hope you will make beautiful things with them to use and to look at.

      About your question: I am Dutch and I live in The Netherlands and The Hague is the city where our government resides and where the Peace Palace is. Here is a link to info and pictures, you might find it nice to browse: http://en.denhaag.nl/en.htm

      Have a great weekend!

  10. I’m sure she will love it.

  11. That is so pretty. I love the way the cream edging to the blanket links with the decoration. I have also just noticed your cute little houses from the post before. I am going to have to have another go at crochet. I tried with what I thought was a very simple owl pattern, but it just seemed to get tighter and not bigger, but perhaps it would be best to start with a simple square.

  12. Awesome blanket, it’s the perfect gift.

    Heres’ my FO: http://mibruno.com/terminada-alicia/

  13. What a great touch to add a doily! It looks beautiful🙂

  14. Oh this looks wonderful, and the doily is such an interesting addition to the blanket🙂

  15. I the way the sturdy simplicity of the solid denim blanket, and the lacy elegance of the doily interplay. I think that using neon colored yarn to embroidery the doily to the blanket is genius. It ties the two pieces together in way that makes them one.
    Your project reminds of a quilt I helped my mother make for my oldest sisters wedding by sewing doilies my great-grandmother had made to quilt blocks.

  16. Blijkbaar is er iets fout gegaan met mijn ´abo´ op je berichten. Heb me maar gauw weer ingeschreven. Dit moois wil ik toch niet missen.🙂
    Wat heb je weer geweldige projekten gemaakt in de laatste weken. De Burano huizen! Geweldig leuk, ik denk dat ik een rijtje op een een kussen maak. En de doily is weer een gevalletje ´kwijlenswaardig´. Vooral het midden met de sterren en de palmboompjes. Ik heb nu zin om overal doilies op te naaien ala Andrée. Geen doily is meer veilig.
    Een heel fijn weekend.

  17. OMG I love this, it is supercool! I really want to start working with integrating doilies into projects and have an idea already, it just needs to get executed. I love the denim colour of your blanket as well. Lucky friend!

  18. Andrée, this is beautiful! I always marvel at how fast you can crochet.