elisabeth andrée

about crochet

round rug

14 Comments

the round rug is ready!

round rug by elisabeth andrée

after i had used up the off white and light gray yarn the rug had the size of a large placemat. i saw it happen that a guest would pick up the thing of the floor and say, your placemat lies on the floor, where can i put it? therefore i started to crochet with the other colors of the same yarn and i have used up over 18 balls from my stash and the rug has a diameter of just over 90 cm. not very large but it is a nice size.

 

there is somewhat confusion caused by my complaining about the splitting yarn ‘light cotton’ of drops. the purple pouf i made of this yarn and that was fine to work with, at most, a bit stiff. then drops has renewed the yarn and created this splitting yarn. in my opinion no improvement, even though it contains more cotton.

on the left the old and on the right the new version

on the left the old and on the right the new version

tutorial

if you want to make a round rug too, you can use my tutorial, see here for part 1. increase the number of stitches until the last row. but i have a tip for you to keep the rug completely flat. if the rug is getting larger than it may happen that at the edge it gets slightly wavy. if that’s the case, then crochet one row without increasing, after that row continue again with further increase like you did.

to complete this story about my round rug here some pictures of the details, just for fun. 

until next time!

14 thoughts on “round rug

  1. So beautiful! I love the colour combination!

  2. well, my dear this is really nice!!!!
    good work!!! xxxx Ale

  3. Absolutely gorgeous Andrée!🙂 Kx

  4. Wow!! what an amazing rug. I love it and it looks like it would feel lovely and tactile underfoot!

  5. Wow what a beautiful rug, lovely colour combo

  6. The rug turned out great! Have a nice weekend. Regula

  7. I love it! Congratulations on finishing!

  8. Amazing rug! Love the photos so close you can almost touch each round.

    Here’s my FO: http://mibruno.com/terminado-osito/

  9. Your rug looks amazing! I haven’t tried that stuff but that is one concern I have had with cotton yarn….is that it can be splitty😦

  10. Lovely! Congratulations!

  11. Oh! I’m surprised!
    I wrote you a comment while you, you also wrote me me!
    Internet is really wonderful!
    Again, congratulations on the carpet so beautiful!

  12. Absolutely gorgeous!! I featured this on my round tuit post this week!
    Round Tuit 152
    Thanks again for linking up! Hope you have a great week!
    Jill @ Creating my way to Success