elisabeth andrée

about crochet

warm cushion cover

11 Comments

 

since my previous post last week i finished one cushion cover. it is for my mother who goes through a very difficult year. in april, my oldest brother deceased, which is her first child and next to health problems she has recently lost her sister.

my youngest brother travels the world for his work and phones her as often as he can, my other brother lives in the same street as my mother and offers her great support. i can not phone my mother because i hear very poorly and we don’t see each other very often because i live at the other end of the country. so we write letters. 

Kussen_mam_9830

because winter starts i have a cushion cover designed for her, both colorful and warm and hopefully matching the covers of her other cushion covers

the cover is made from three kinds of acrylic yarn, the stitches are all half double crochets alternately in the front and back loops which creates a ‘bumpy’ pattern.

Kussen_mam_9755Kussen_mam_9760Kussen_mam_9756
for the top row i crocheted 1 h dc, 1 ch, 1 h dc, 1 ch and so on and the bright pink long string of chain stitches i braided through the holes like a shoelace.
Kussen_mam_9834Kussen_mam_9827

today i send the cushion by mail to my mother and let’s hope she will like it.

 
have a good week!
Kussen_mam_9763
11 thoughts on “warm cushion cover

  1. Hi Elisabeth,It’s been a while that I visit your blog and Itoday i decided it was time to say how much I enjoy coming here. Your work is really beautiful, inspiring and it’s always a pleasure coming here. I like the simplicity and ellegance of your designs, in special the way you use the colors, I just love them. Thanks for sharing with us 🙂

  2. Interesting to see that with small variations in a common stitch you create a different structure! Sad to read that your mother is going through a difficult time.Yesterday we celebrated my mothers 83rd birthday. She is doing remarkably well, being a widow (my father died eight years ago) and having a heart condition.Writing letters is a almost an art nowadays and it is nice that you can keep them and reread them in the future. But I also feel sad to read that you cannot talk to your mother on the phone. Your cushion looks warm, both the yarn and the colors. Good idea to send your mother a gift that tells her that you love her.

  3. I really like that stitch combo you used..it works up really nice. And the pillow is great!TracyAnn from http://www.crochethappy.com and http://asktracyann.crochethappy.com

  4. BEAUTIFUL! I love the simple design and the subtle harmony in the yarn colors! I just finished a crochet pillow myself and I am simply in love with yours 🙂

  5. Sorry to hear about all the loss your family has had recently. I am sure the cushion cover will be a great comfort for your mom, something made with love and nice to hold.I love the colours you have combined for the project looks super.x

  6. Sorry to hear about the losses that your family has had. The cushion looks lovely and I’m sure your Mom will love it. 🙂

  7. What a beautiful cushion! I’m sure your mother will love it – what a lovely thought!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success

    <a href=http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/ >http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/ </a>

  8. Your mother is going to love her beautiful new cushion. :)Thank you so much for your visit to my blog!!!Vivienne x

  9. This is beautiful, your Mum is going to love it!

  10. This cushion is beautiful, I hope it cheers your mum up!

  11. Lovely colors and the simple design I totally love your warm cusion cover.