elisabeth andrée

about crochet

strings scarf

21 Comments

finished!

yes, the scarf with the strings is ready!

while making the strings, it seemed at times that my fingers fell off, so no similar things in the nearby future:(

another problem is that i can’t get nice and clear photos of the scarf… well look at the pictures, not good, don’t you think? the weather is gray and therefore the colors look a bit drab. this is what i have done to get better ones:

i took pictures of the scarf…

wearing a black shirt
_elisabeth_andree_9644
a blue (teal colored) sweater
_elisabeth_andree_9658
on a hanger

_elisabeth_andree_9662

on the table
_elisabeth_andree_9676
on my good old lampshade (like a wig, don’t you think?)
_elisabeth_andree_9680

 

i have also tried to take a picture with the scarf on a hanger hanging at the window, but then a little pigeon in the garden got almost a heart attack, poor bird.

 

this time i did it a little differently than last time when i worked with thinner cotton yarn (see here). these strings are made of softfun, a blend of 60% cotton and 40% acrylic in two shades, 1 ball of each, and hook size 4 mm. after closing the strings to a ring i have them – through the parts where i have sewn – strung together and secured the whole firmly with a knot. then i sewed a crocheted elongated piece over it and that is the part you wear in your neck.

_elisabeth_andree_9672

finally i sewed a larger crocheted elongated piece over the strings so that it functions such as a men’s necktie. that part you can slide as high or as low as you want. 

_elisabeth_andree_9648

 

what do you think of it?

 

UPDATE !

by the way 1:

if you like to make similar strings you can find the link to the tutorials by vashti braha for chainless foundations but unfortunately, there are problems with her website and her tutorials are not accessible.

another tutorial can be found on the website of doris chan via this link

by the way 2:

the elongated pieces of my scarf are all slip stitches.

hope to see you next time!
21 thoughts on “strings scarf

  1. I love it. It’s worth the pain. :-))

  2. Oh it’s gorgeous! Halfway between a scarf and jewelry, I’d say. And well worth all that hard labour.

  3. Very nice ! First time I see something like that ! And I love it !Have a great day !Thanks for your visit.Anna

  4. Totally gorgeous! I love the colors.

  5. Love the colors! Thanks for sharing the link to the pattern.

  6. I laughed about the bird, shame :)I think it looks stunning with the teal sweater – a real eye catcher! Wonderful project!x

  7. I think that the pictures are nice, but if you are not entirely satisfied try to put all of them together in a mosaic, it should work!

  8. I love it! I am just starting to learn crochet. My first project is a cap with single and double crochet so far. The finger that holds the thread needs to be trained! Perhaps making chains would be a better way to start. I agree that your scarf shows well on the teal sweater – although I would not have thought to combine those colours.

  9. Love it! So beautiful!

  10. So lovely!!! Such an original idea! Thanks so much for sharing. I’d love for you to visit my blog. Happy week!Hugs from Portugal,Ana Love Craftwww.lovecraft2012.blogspot.com

  11. I think it looks great – it’s a lovely accent to dress up your outfits. 🙂

  12. Oh, it looks lovely in your photos so it must be stunning in real life!

  13. I’ve never seen anything like it, very clever idea!

  14. WOW that scarf looks amazing

  15. Gorgeous scarf Elisabeth!!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success

    <a href=http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/ >http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/ </a>

  16. Wow that looks fabulous, you are a very clever lady

  17. I love this scarf. Thank you so much for sharing it on the Inspiration Board. I featured it today! http://carolynshomework.blogspot.com/2012/11/the-inspiration-board-link-party_9.htmlHave a great weekend Elisabeth.

  18. I absolutely love your scarf. I am new to crocheting and do not understand how this is made. I tried to follow the links to Vashti Braha’s site and am receiving warnings that there is a malware virus. I work on an iMac and it will not allow me to proceed to her site. Are your chains single or double chainless foundations. I love the look of them. They appear as if they twist or something. I apologize for not knowing the proper terms, but I am trying to learn.

  19. @ KimThank you for your visit and for your kind words!For someone who writes that she is new to crochet, you can see the details in the pictures very well. My compliment!The problem that you describe on the website of Vashti Braha I have experienced too, unfortunately. I went looking for another tutorial and I have updated my text. If you follow that tutorial and make several garlands/strings you can also make a necklace. Good luck with it! And thank you again!

  20. Absolutely gorgeous! I agree with Kim’s comment about the twisting, it is a nice effect, yet different from the original. Do you think the type of yarn made the difference?

    • Hello Stephanie,

      Thanks for visiting and your comment.

      Regarding the twisting: the type of yarn in this case did not make much difference, maybe it seems that way. For the strings scarf/necklace in this post I used matte yarn and for my other necklaces I used Mercerized cotton. For this scarf I have crocheted more and longer strings and for the first few necklaces I first arranged and smoothed out the strings to make a knot.
      I hope this answered your question.
      Have a nice day!