elisabeth andrée

about crochet

shall i stay or shall i go?

20 Comments

hello everyone!

for a while i think about to stop blogging. i started this blog when i could no longer work and i still wanted a sort of task. it was until a month or two ago super fun to do, but then i found that writing about crochet was only a bit of a commitment and i had and have the feeling that i was/am not doing it very well.

posterous was then taken over by twitter and that’s very good news for these parties, but not for the bloggers because this platform in this form will cease to exist. on the advice of a friend i would switch to wordpress, but … i opted for posterous because it is so incredibly easy to work with. i love posterous and what will entail working with wordpress?

last week i saw on a blog i regularly visit similar reflections. there are so many blogs about crochet, why should i continue? do i add something nice, handy, useful, inspirational? i love to crochet but do i love to write about it? do you like to read about all these stitches i make?

now my brother has left our world this week everything feels a bit heavier, so maybe i wait with taking a decision. will i continue blogging or not and will i switch to wordpress or do i wait until posterous comes with news about this blogging platform?

i am of course busy crocheting: the large purple pouf, the yellow bag, two other bags, the summer blanket is waiting for me and so there are more half-finished projects. i’ll keep you informed. 

 

wish you a very nice weekend!
Img_7916
20 thoughts on “shall i stay or shall i go?

  1. First of all, Elisabeth I am so sorry to hear that your brother has passed away. Secondly, you are so right to say this isn’t the right time to make the decision to stop blogging. I wonder if it might help to take a break from blogging..maybe for a couple of weeks… see how it feels not to blog… I for one would miss your blog very much.. I find it inspirational, informative and so creative, but you must put yourself first and take time to heal and reassess… I am sending you big healing hugs and will be thinking about you.. Jill xx

  2. Dear Elisabeth,I’m so sorry to hear about your brother’s departure. My thoughts are with you.I won’t say keep blogging just for the sake of it, because I know it demands a lot of work and energy. You have to decide that. But I will say blogging is a perfect exercise for creativity. It doesn’t matter whether it’s useful or popular to others, what matters is what it means to you. Are you a better crocheter now? Have you learned how to take better pictures? Have you met new people through your blog? If you answer yes, then probably you should stay.Big hug.

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your brother. Give yourself some time. Crochet because you love it and see what happens. Again, you are in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. Elizabeth, I’m so sad about you news, your brother and your blog :(I completely agree with Jill and Karen.I love to read your blog, even if you don’t do it very often. Take a rest and if you like, get back with your lovely crochet work!Kisses from Porto, Portugal, Paula

  5. I am so sorry for your loss! As for your blog, I think you should keep writing and posting, I enjoy reading your thoughts!

  6. What sad news! I wish you a lot of strength and hope you will be able to just be for a while.Maybe now is not the best time to take decisions? I love reading your blog and I have used some of the patterns you so carefully work out for us to share. However, blogging should be pleasurable to you.Have you looked at Blogger? I find the layout really easy and there are many options on the look you want to create. I have a WordPress Blog too, but don’t like their interface as much.I would be sad to see you go…Bimbi x

  7. 😦 so sad about your brother. … you should do what you feel like; what gives you pleasure doing? If you enjoy writing, keep doing it! I for sure enjoy reading your blog and watching the pictures of your work!

  8. First, I am sorry to hear about your brother. My thoughts are with you.Second, I do think that your blog adds something very valuable to the world of crochet blogs. You have a very unique style and a beautiful voice. I’d be sad to see it not continue. BUT I think that you need to do what’s right for you, to decide what you get out of the blog and if it’s something that is good for you at this time. You don’t need to make a decision right away. We’ll be here whenever you do.

  9. So sorry about your loss. You need some timer to mourn, and not think about anything else. When you come back…you will know. If you´d ask my opinion, I would say: do it as long as it is enjoyable. But to be true, we would miss you. Please let us know what you decide.I pray that you find comfort.Ana BC

  10. Elisabeth, I am so sorry to hear about you loss. I’m sending positive thoughts your way. You shouldn’t be worrying about blogging these days. Take it easy and try to focus on your private life and feelings. I did stop blogging some time ago and it actually helped me to sort my thoughts about it. Personally I really like wordpress. It’s so much easier than blogger but with less oportunities to personalized your blog (that’s the only minus of wordpress for me). I totally understand you self-questioning the purpose of your blog. I love it and you inspire me. You’re right that there is so many people who blogg about crochet.you know there is so many blogs about photography and at some point I felt like there is no sense for me to have one. But at the end I enjoy having it and writing it. There is extra happiness if I get comments, of course. Through my blog I made a few friends and if I didn’t have it I would have “met” them. I would say: Do what your heart tells you. If you need some break, take it for as long as you want!!! and then come back with your mind clear and ready to get back to work of inspiring many people!

  11. btw, I LOVE THAT YELLOW BAG!!!!

  12. Elizabeth, So sorry to hear about your loss. Loosing any body in your life is hard thing to deal with especially a family member. To stay or go well I have to agree that you have to do what you enjoy doing. I am a newby to crochet and I have to say I read A LOT of crochet blogs BUT there are a handful that I really enjoy and look forward to reading. I put yours on the list of the handful I really enjoy!! I always look forward to seeing what beautiful things you make and I Love reading your stories. Also most of the blogs if they do give a pattern they think every one is as experienced as them and do NOT give good detail to their patterns so that’s another thing I enjoy a bought your blog. I hope you decide to stay but you have to do what honestly makes you happy! Hope all works out for you and God Bless you at this sorrowful time! Keeping you in our prayers !!

  13. Hi I think all our little crafty blogs add something to world by making it a brighter more creative place 🙂 I am so sorry to hear about your loss losing a close family member is one of the hardest things in life to experience I have the deepest sympathy for you at this time.And I enjoy seeing all your wonderful crochet creations.Much love Bebe

  14. I am very sorry to hear about the loss of your brother. You’ll be in my prayers. ((hug))Maybe you just need to take a break from blogging. You can come back later refreshed. And you don’t have to blog just about crochet – this is your blog and you can post whatever you’d like to. Take care. 🙂

  15. I am so sorry for your loss. Your sharing of your brother’s passing told me how much he was loved and cherished. Take your time in your decision making. Know that we will all be here. I enjoy your blog, your creativity, your generous spirit and your open heart. – Marlene

  16. I’m sorry to hear about your brother Andree… be gentle with yourself, hon. No need to make big decisions. Just post when you feel like it. If you feel like dabbling with a new blog, try out wordpress or blogger or all of them – see what suits you. I love reading your posts and really enjoying finding out about new crochet stitches and seeing what you’ve made. At the end of the day though, you should do the blog for yourself and not other people. Take care. Kx

  17. Ach Andrée, wat verdrietig om te lezen. Ik had zo gehoopt dat dit niet zou gebeuren en heb terwijl ik de bloemetjes haakte aan je gedacht. Het is en blijft een schrale troost maar veel mensen denken aan je en wensen je sterkte toe. Ook al is het virtueel. Tja …het bloggen. Ik ben een jaar of twee zelf gestopt met bloggen. Voornamelijk om gezondheidsredenen. Soms mis ik het en ik ben in dubio of ik weer beginnen zal. Jouw blog is zeker de moeite waard. Kijk alleen maar naar het aantal pins dat je krijgt op je posts. Je tutorials zijn amazing en nog belangrijker voor mij, je bent een geweldig aardig mens! Zo! ;)Maar belangrijker is momenteel of je het zelf nog wel leuk vind. Ik zou gewoon een rustperiode inlassen. Vind je het na een tijd nog steeds niet leuk, kun je altijd nog stoppen. Een dikke knuffel uit stormachtig Ierland.

  18. I’m sorry for your loss. take care,your heart will tell you what is next in this adventure of life.

  19. Daar ben ik weer. Je vroeg je in je post af of je wel inspirerend genoeg was. Klik even op deze link en je hebt je antwoord. 🙂 Most viewed link of the week was……http://sarahndipities.blogspot.com/2012/04/make-something-monday-link-party-5…~sarahndipities~%29&utm_content=Google+Reader

  20. I love your work, it isn’t like any other crochet blog. I enjoy crochet and I like to read about other people’s work. Understand that you have something interesting to say, your work is unique and beautiful, your blog a joy to read. I thank you for your time and effort, it is appreciated.My thoughts are with you in this time of your loss.