elisabeth andrée

about crochet

blanket with neon accents

19 Comments

welcome back!

Img_6950

the last few weeks i worked on my gray-brown blanket. 

Img_6937

when i started this blanket i did not feel for crocheting granny squares or ripples or another familiar pattern. i decided to use a simple stitch pattern and to make it a little unusual. as you can see it has a block, lines and angles. maybe a little weird to your opinion?

Img_6934
Img_6860

 

brown and gray is a little too faint for me and i embroidered on it with neon colored yarn. the neon yarn i bought last year because i wanted to crochet a white scarf with neon accents, but crocheting with the neon colors made me almost cross eyed:) crocheting did not succeed, but embroidering with it was fine.

Img_6887

the stitch pattern gives the blanket a very comfortable feeling. it feels really good and i become attached to it already. i had actually want it slightly bigger, but then it would be too heavy for my washing machine.

someone asked me how i’ve made this blanket and therefore i will write a global description of it later this week here on my blog.

for now i hope you like the pictures!

have a lovely week!

Img_6919
Img_6921
Img_6910
Img_6943
Img_6948
Img_6949

UPDATE!

if you like to go to basic pattern description

19 thoughts on “blanket with neon accents

  1. Hi Elisabeth, your blanket is really lovely, and the neon gives it a special touch🙂

  2. Hi Elisabeth,that’s a very unusual but nevertheless beautiful blanket, I’m looking forward to your description!have great week,Barbara

  3. Wonderful thinking, using the neon for accents to your blanket. Like how you chose to use different stitches on the accents.

  4. Hi A! This is a really nice blanket and the colourful stiches make it fantastic! And I’m happy it went so well with your contest. All pieces were great🙂 Take care.

  5. When you first noted that you were using neon with those colors I cringed a little because I didn’t think it would look nice but you absolutely proved me wrong. Looks great!

  6. I love this Elisabeth… I was a bit confused when you mentioned neon too, but you have done it so tastefully… just a little touch that really brings the grey ad browns to life… brilliant! :)x

  7. wow! I love this!

  8. What a great blanket – it’s quite different and that’s what makes it so wonderful!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success

  9. Dit is een hele leuke deken! Uniek & stijlvol. Een goed idee om die neon-kleurtjes er op die manier in te verwerken!Groetjes,Joke

  10. I had to stop by because I noticed your name. It’s spelled just like mine! This is such a beautiful afghan, with lovely stitching.(Visiting from the Everything Under the Moon link party.)

  11. Love the way the colours work, on your blanket.

  12. Loving that afghan! Great work!

  13. The brights really give it an extra touch. I don’t think the pattern is “weird” at all; I think that bar really leads the eye and adds something more unexpected!

  14. I love the punch of color! And the modern design!

  15. I absolutely LOVE those neon colors!!!

  16. Wow! You are very creative, and the blanket is just beautiful!

  17. Colour combinations are great. Lovely blanket!

  18. Love this blanket! It really has a lot of character to it with the hint of neon. At Thursdays we love to do projects like this and this might have to be on the list. Thanks for Sharing- Thursday Night Dinner

  19. Wow! I liked the blanket to begin with and could not imagine what you were planning with the neon yarn, but I absolutely LOVE it! Very cool!!!!!