elisabeth andrée

about crochet

the making of…

35 Comments

happy new year

 
yellow motifs by elisabeth andrée

2006 – 2008 were stressful years and the more stress the more i was crocheting. i could not really find patterns in dutch so i learned to understand patterns in english. mostly i used old patterns for doilies because i think they often have beautiful centers.

later i found diagrams that i could not understand and there was not much information available as it is now, although it is only a few years ago. i gradually got the hang of it, and now i prefer diagrams above written patterns.

i have done all practicing with a yellow shade (curry, mustard) acrylic yarn and the motifs are in a cardboard box in a closet. on the photos you see about the half of them.

wobbly

recently i woke up in the middle of the night with the idea of ​​making some sort of card for new year’s day.

the next day i formed words with the yellow motifs on the ground but it did not fit in the picture (only new did), so i made parts of words. i wobbly stood on a ladder with my camera and the light went from sunny to cloudy.

yellow motifs by elisabeth andrée
yellow motifs by elisabeth andrée

the second photo shows you a part of the first result and i am sure you can imagine i was not happy about it. 

then i e-mailed jeroen who is a photo expert to my opinion: “please help?!” he mailed back immediately: “mail me your pictures”. 

by the way, that was christmas day… 

a few days later i emailed jeroen again: did you forget about my pictures? … whine, whine, whine… as if the man has no other activities. the next day i received an email from him with these results. quite amazing!

thanks again jeroen!

35 thoughts on “the making of…

  1. How frustrating…get to the top of the ladder and the sun goes in! The card has turned out really well though.. what good friends you have to help on Christmas Day. I can’t believe these were all ‘practice pieces’.. they look very advanced to me :)x

  2. Happy New Year to you as well. Thanks for sharing the story of that picture!

  3. I also learned to crochet with English (American) patterns :)I did my first attempt on the 1st of January 2011!!Once again, I wish you a creative year🙂

  4. Hello Paula,Thanks for your reaction. I think we have things in common, and that is nice! And yes, let us have a creative year!

  5. This is fantastic Elisabeth, and how kind of your friend to help you!I just love it!!Thank you so very much for sharing with us this week at The Creative Exchange.Have a great day!lisa.

  6. What an incredibly CLEVER idea!I absolutely love the color and patterns you chose!I’m not a crocheter myself, but it’s a “someday goal.” How inspiring!Would also love it if you stopped by for a visit!~Abbie (www.fivedaysfiveways.com)

  7. Thanks for sharing – I think it turned out great!

  8. That is really neat and very unique. : ) Love it.

  9. Hi, I love your blog, came accross it on pinterest. Just wanted to say hi, my name is Andree Elisabeth, thought it was so neat to randomly find you! Always thought my name was one of a kind, still kind of is ;-))

  10. @Andree: Such a shame you do not tell where you can be find on Pinterest? Or maybe you have your own blog? Thanks for stopping by and you nice message!

  11. I love it so much, greetings

  12. LOVE THIS…you are a beautiful crocheter!

  13. I love spelling out words with random things! This is sooooo cute. Now what are you going to do with them?

  14. What a wonderful idea🙂 I seriously love it!

  15. These are awesome and I love the yellow. Great idea making the card. So fun!

  16. Hello Jenni,What I am going to do with them? Nothing I think. Making them kept me sane so I treasure them, but you never know….:) Thanks for your sweet words!

  17. Those are so cute, it makes me want to learn to crochet.

  18. This is such a great idea, I wish I knew how to crochet!A few blog friends and I are collectively presenting a new challenge idea that we would love to have you join. If you have a second, check in at http://www.thespacebetweenblog.wordpress.com on Monday to learn more, and feel free to email me if you have any questions!Karah @ thespacebetweenblog

  19.  Hallo, Sorry for my english, its difficult for me, if you want the Bunny pattern in yellow trouser, must i have your address, because i haven’t on my computer. Thanks for the nice answers on my blog, i started in february 2011 for the first time to crochet. I hope you can understand my email, i hear from you!!! Greetngs Gerrie

  20. I only knit but thank-you so much!  Have a wonderful day!

  21. Hi Elisabeth, These motifs are just beautiful!! Thank you for sharing at my link party!

  22. Wauw wat gaaf gedaan!!!!

  23. That is truly beautiful! You have such talent! Thanks for sharing at the Tuesday To Do Party!Smiles!Jamiwww.blackberryvine.blogspot.com

  24. I love your doilies! Maybe it’s because yellow is my favorite color, but I think they’re gorgeous. Wish I knew how to crochet like this, I’d make a bunch to add to cardigans, etc. I also love the New Year’s message you made with them.

  25. I love yarn & I love to crochet–that pile of motifs looks absolutely beautiful.

  26. I love this post, how cute these sweet doilies..well done friend!!Have a great year! Khadijawww.creativemind.tk

  27. This came out so pretty love the color you choose.

  28. Wonderful !Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success

  29. Wauw, wat een geweldig kunstwerk! Voor jou natuurlijk ook een fantastisch, gezond en creatief 2012! Maar dat gaat ongetwijfeld lukken met dit soort prachtige ideeen en je nieuwe kalender.liefs van Maaike

  30. Hallo Maaike, Wat leuk om wat van je te horen, uhm te lezen:) Ik kijk regelmatig op je website rond en ik vind alles even leuk en mooi! Volgens mij gaat het hartstikke goed met je en daar ben ik blij om!XO:)

  31. Really Great! I love that you are using color. What would happen if you randomly layered each piece, sewed together to make a scarf? I think they would be wonderful in the yellow or magenta, etc.. Happy crocheting!!!

  32. Really Great! I love that you are using color. What would happen if you randomly layered each piece, sewed together to make a scarf? I think they would be wonderful in the yellow or magenta, etc.. Happy crocheting!!!

  33. These are awesome! Love the flowers..and of course the sentiment! Thanks so much for sharing with the Pink Hipo Party..Can’t wait to see what you share next.

  34. These are just so amazing. I’ve never learned how to crochet but I hear it’s so therapeutic. This is such a great way to turn stress into something beautiful!🙂