elisabeth andrée

about crochet

theft and plagiarism

16 Comments

this time of the year you may expect a nice post with pretty photos of christmas balls and candles. but recently, a crocheter sent me a message in which she wrote that she had bought the pattern of my apricot bag on listia.com. someone had my text and images copied and pasted and put up for sale. 

she also says: “It’s not about the money for me. It’s about the blatant theft that goes on in that site and that, apparently Listia tacitly endorses by allowing the sellers to relist stolen patterns again and again without any consequences. So far, I’ve seen Listia shut down an auction. And the seller turns around and relists again. I have written one and 1/2 pattern and although the results are wonderful, the process is long and it is blood, sweat, and tears to get it done. I find it offensive on many levels. I found another person who’s selling a Nicky Epstein pattern.

i wonder if the people of listia.com are content with the fact that such practices take place on their website? 
i am disappointed with the morals of some people. 

intentions

we let us all be inspired by others, we see much through the internet, in magazines, books and museums and on television. i recently saw a documentary about and with paul smith (british designer), and he openly shows that he looks at everything and gets inspired. that’s life, i think. you see things, it gets in your brain and it comes out again. copy and paste and selling without permission and without giving someone credits for her design, words and photo’s has to do with wrong intentions. being inspired…. we all are happily inspired. again, it has to do with your intentions.

what to do next?

i left a message on ravelry.com about this case and i hope that they want to warn their members. therefore i write this post for you. i want to ask you to be alert and possibly pay attention to the subject on your blog. it can happen to you or it is happening to you already. i’ve been naive about everything and i need to think about it.

i have never felt so strong that my mastery of the english language is insufficient and therefore i can not explain this subject in the way i would in dutch. fortunately, my blog friend kylie emailed me links to her post on this topic. she wrote: “i have heard of this happening a lot.— I did a post about it a while ago now — in the comments people told me about other situations where it was blatant plagiarism.” 

so if the topic interests you visit the links and please do read the comments too.

http://kylie-3sheets.blogspot.com/2009/11/lets-talk-about-plagiarism.html

and the link about some terrible plagiarism is:

http://www.book-by-its-cover.com/fineart/a-sad-story-must-read

auction

honestly i do not understand very well why people are buying patterns this way (auction). a search for crochet patterns in your browser gives you more hits than you can handle. and you have http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com and http://www.oneprettything.com (search for crochet), both loaded with patterns and ideas. http://www.crochetconcupiscence.com/, a beacon in our crochet world with so much information on it. and ravelry.com, an unbeatable database of ideas and free patterns or patterns for just a few dollars or euros. membership is free!

i hope i have not written gibberish and that this post is understandable for you. please feel free to comment!

gift for you 

at the end of this week i am back here with a gift for you! i like to end my first blog year in a stylish way. really hope to see you again!

16 thoughts on “theft and plagiarism

  1. Hi Elizabeth,I have heard of this before, but unfortunately the internet is open and people often aren’t "nice" and will do anything to their own advantage. It is very sad, but commercial theft goes on all the time.There are only two things you can do. Either say ok, so what? Let them do it. Or do what a friend of mine did. She will show work on her blog and let you have the pattern if you mail her and if she feels uneasy about the person she won’t let them have it. As far as she knows she has had only positive experiences with that.For the record: your English is excellent!Thanks for those links as well, two I don’t know yet.Bimbi x

  2. Oops! Sorry! EliSabeth, not with a Z !! :)Bimbi x

  3. I have never heard of Listia before, and not sure I ever want to now! I find that the whole issue of copyright etc. on the internet is complicated, and probably not fully understood by many people who put their patterns up for sale, but this is OBVIOUSLY blatant theft! Maybe you could watermark your patterns with a warning such as: ‘This pattern is only for sale at…… if for sale anywhere else, please do not buy’. Bimbi’s suggestion is good too. I don’t understand the mentality of the people who steal work, nor the lack of care of the site itself, but I for one, will not be going there. The sites you linked to are excellent and very informative….thanks! Elisabeth your English vocabulary and grammar is excellent! :)x

  4. I’m so sorry that this happended to you. This bothers me so much. I agree with the lady that said that alot goes into creating a pattern – and then to have someone come along and take it to sell or claim as their own is just plain wrong. I spoke out about this a while ago and got blasted for being mean. I don’t know. I do know that there are givers and takers in this world – and sometimes the takers are out in front.Have you contacted the seller of your pattern to ask them to stop selling it?

  5. The takers are always out in front – otherwise they would give!I think this sort of thing is really bad.Bimbi x

  6. Kevin,

    Your response to my angry email I think is polite and also addssomething to the other comments. Thank you for this.

  7. I’m sorry this occurred. If you do notice this type of behavior on our site you can supply us with the auction and where the pattern is found online and we’d be able to remove the auction and send the user a warning about this behavior on our site.

  8. Sweet Jill, Bimbi and Debi Y, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. I am convinced that nobody is always sweet and kind or always angry and ugly. Debi, if you say to someone that he or she is not allowed to steal from you and you get as response that you’re mean …. well that’s the world upside down. That is bizarre! Jill and Bimbi: Thank you for your advice, it helps me forward. It is getting shape in my head how I can share my patterns with you, because I really do not let me stop by these few idiots. It seems like the takers are in the majority, but I think they are not. They’re just so brutal that they are notices by almost everybody. Again, I am glad you’ve responded, that gives me a good feeling! Will you come back Friday? I have such a nice present for you …. well, I think so myself:)Big hug to you!!

  9. Hello Barbara,
    Good to read your response and please don’t apologize, it is a good thing something to throw your irritations up/out(?) in the air. Life has its ups and downs, we all have our experiences, even the takers! But don’t worry, this won’t stop me from sharing my crochet ideas with you, I only think I need to find another way of publishing it on my blog.

    Oh yes, come back Friday.. haha, I am enthusiastic about my own gift. that’s a bit sad;)

    Nice to hear from you and try to relax that nerve!

  10. Oops. not it is a good thing something.. it is a good thing sometimes.sorry!

  11. Hi Elisabeth,Wow, that’s an awful thing that happened here! I think it’s already bad enough, if someone buys a pattern and then shares it for free – but it’s even worse to take a free pattern and then sell it, pretending it’s their own! I think I’m too naive for this world, too, and I just can’t understand what drives people to do these things. It’s not only in the internet, over the last years I’ve experienced so much injustice in everyday life, and it seems that people always get away with it.But back to crochet: Speaking for myself, I’m SO glad and thankful that there are people like you, or Debi, or Angie/Sucrette, or Lucy (to name just a few), who share their great ideas for free, and it would be really a pity, if this generosity was destroyed by some stupid people who care for nothing but their own. Sorry that I couldn’t stop myself, but you’ve really touched a nerve! 🙂 Anyway, thanks for sharing your experience, I hope this won’t happen again!Have a good week nevertheless, can’t wait til friday! 🙂

  12. So sorry this happened to you Elisabeth. Some people can be so rotten. Someone stole one of my designs once and was selling /competing with me on Etsy. It’s a terrible feeling. Hope you feel better.

  13. Thanks for highlighting this issue. I love Listia but I only use it to get yarn. I can’t really see why people would use it to get patterns.

  14. Hello Carolyn,<div>Competing with yourself on Etsy???.that is bizarre! Yes, some people can be very rotten:( I don’t understand why listia.com and etsy.comlet it happen. Thanks for your sweet response!

  15. <html><head></head><body style="word-wrap: break-word; -webkit-nbsp-mode: space; -webkit-line-break: after-white-space; ">Hello Kathryn,<div>Sure a website like Listia can be nice for products, I can understand that. They should keep away from things like patterns. Someone gave me this advice on Facebook: "…a<span class="Apple-style-span" style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); line-height: 14px; ">nd letting them know that you’re one step away to make a big bubble advertising that their website is doing something fraudulent. i believe something happened to ebay some time ago about selling fakes, and they had to implement something about security. it’s worth giving it a shot???"&nbsp;</span><span class="Apple-style-span" style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); line-height: 14px; ">Let’s see what the near future brings us. Thanks for your response!</span></div><div><div><div style="width: 600px; font-size: 12px; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 18px;" class="PosterousEmail"></div></div></div></body></html>

  16. This is a great post Andree! It is such an emotive subject, simply because it really really hurts when you’ve worked so hard on something and someone just takes the easy way out – it hurts a lot. I think you’ve done a fabulous job! Thanks for the link love 🙂 Kx