elisabeth andrée

about crochet

scarf with blocks and stripes

11 Comments

on the website of the style crusader, i found pictures of this dress and the color combination was what appealed to me.

Jurk

thestylecrusader (update: this website does not exist anymore)

dress by natar georgiou

 

yarn

a while ago i bought a fair amount of cheap acrylic yarn to crochet a blanket, but guess what: each color had a different thickness. so goodby blanket, i will use it for other purposes. this scarf is one of them.

blocks and stripes

for this scarf i had a nice color plan developed including soft pink and then i tried to crochet a scarf of double crochet, but it was almost bizarre, all hills and valleys. eventually i worked with front post and back post stitches. even then i had the pink section pulled because it felt like cardboard and i had the white yarn replaced by another brand. anyway this is the final result.

Img_6632Img_6625Kleurenplan_6638

you too have similar experiences with yarn? i’ve also seen this with more expensive yarn and recently i’ve had yarn of which parts in one ball were thicker or thinner than the rest. annoying, manufacturers please solve these problems.

 

Img_6601

 

 

11 thoughts on “scarf with blocks and stripes

  1. Hi Elizabeth, Love the scarf :)Sometimes I buy cheaper yarn but later I don’t know what to do with it, specially if it’s very different one ball from the others, them I have to use it in small projects!

  2. These colour combinations are really nice…unusual, but they definitely work together :)x

  3. Thanks for the tip Debby Y. It is indeed very irritating.Thank you for stopping by again, it is always nice to ‘hear’ from you:)

  4. Thank you Paula for stopping by and your kind words. That makes us crocheting scarves, garlands and bracelets:) Love your blog!

  5. Thanks Jill!

  6. First of all, I love that dress. Would love to see you making it and sharing the pattern 😉 Second of all, your scarf is lovely! So far I do not have many bad experiences with yarn, but I do not buy them very often. My crochet projects have been small so far so I never need a lot of yarn, and never buy a lot… . I wish I had more yarn and crochet more, but I can’t afford that. Hugs from my corner!

  7. Lovely scarf!! I don’t mind the difference in thickness, it’s charming!!

  8. The comment of Debi Y. is disappeared, but luckily I found it in my inbox.Debi Y. just commented on the post “scarf with blocks and stripes” on about crochet.Your scarf looks very nice. :)Red Heart Super Saver yarn has that problem – some are soft and some are rough. Very irritating.That’s why I thanked her for her tip, and I agree with her that it’s irritating in my response above.

  9. The comment of Debi Y. is disappeared, but luckily I found it in my inbox.Debi Y. just commented on the post "scarf with blocks and stripes" on about crochet.Your scarf looks very nice. :)Red Heart Super Saver yarn has that problem – some are soft and some are rough. Very irritating.That’s why I thanked her for her tip, and I agree with her that it’s irritating in my response above.

  10. I love the colors! It is a marvelous pattern. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Wonderful colourful scarf!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a great week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success