elisabeth andrée

about crochet

scarf – buttons – sleeves

27 Comments

for a long time i wanted something made of black and pink yarn, for some reason an exciting combination. now proved to be too exciting for me because i have combined it with a very light and a dark shade of gray. the sleeves are fitting great and because they are a bit too long, i can hide my hands in the cuffs when i am cold.

i found it very difficult to properly describe how i crocheted it. hopefully the pattern is clearly enough.

 

scarf

scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée

buttons

scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée

sleeves

scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée

used materials

softfun – scheepjes -ca. 140m/50gr – 60% cotton/40% acrylic

  • pink – 3 balls
  • dark gray – 4 balls
  • very light gray – 1 ball
  • black – 1 ball
  • 30 transparant plastic buttons with 4 holes
  • crochet hook size 3.5 mm
  • needle with a blunt point

for this pattern you can use any yarn you like, if it is thicker or thinner than my yarn, only adjust the number of stitches.

used stithes (american terms)
  • ch – chain
  • ss – slip stitch
  • dc – double crochet
  • bpdc – back post double crochet
  • fpdc – front post double crochet

pattern & notes

this is how i have made it. 

the basis is 21 stitches (16 + 5 chain) with a multiple of two. i started with 79 chain and made the first dc in the seventh chain from hook. from here you can follow the diagram, but first some pattern notes.

  • from row 2, i replaced the first dc not by 3 but 2 chains
  • rows 1, 3, 5 and further (the odd rows) are on the wrong side, these are the rows of dc’s and chains
  • rows 2, 4, 6 and further (the even rows) are on the right side, these are the rows with the post stitches – bpdc and fpdc – and chains. these rows always begin with a fpdc right after the turning chains
  • i suggest you mark the right side with a piece of contrasting color yarn
  • you can choose to use one or several colors to work with, like i did. i first made ​​one half until it was long enough, measured from my spine to my hand. when that part is long enough finish with a row with post stitches and weave in all ends
  • attach the yarn to the beginning chains on the right side and crochet a row with post stitches
  • make the second part the same way as the first part, end with a row of post stitches and chains.
scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée

the edge

attach the yarn on the wrong side at a long side of your scarf and start with 3 ch, then you crochet 1 dc in the space of the first dc, 1 ch, 1 dc in the space of the next dc, repeat this until you reach the end of this side, 3 ch and turn. crochet a row of post stitches and chains till end of row. fasten off.

repeat these 2 rows on the other long side of your scarf.

note to row 1: the spaces between 2 dc’s serve as buttonholes.

finishing touches

weave in all ends of yarn and sew buttons down one long side and then you’re done.

scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andréescarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée
scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andréescarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée

 

options to wear

scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andréescarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée

scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée
scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée
scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée

hope you like the concept of this scarf-button-sleeves!
have fun with it!

scarf-buttons-sleeves by elisabeth andrée

 

more about bpdc and fpdc:

27 thoughts on “scarf – buttons – sleeves

  1. What a brilliant idea! I love the colour combination too… do you mind if I reblog a link to this? :)x

  2. This is a very lovely idea! And so nice colours too 🙂

  3. Very pretty – and such a great idea. Thanks for sharing your pattern. 🙂

  4. Precioso¡¡¡¡¡ Me gusta llevar mangas en verano y la tuya es muy bonita.Un saludo.

  5. Hello Jill,Nice to meet you:) Of course it’s fine if you reblog, I think it is very kind of you. Today I was for the first time on your website and I liked it!I will post a message there for you.Kind regards:)

  6. Beautiful! I love the pink and grey together. I’m actually working on a pink and black design myself this week.

  7. Hello Kathleen,Thank you for your response, I look forward to your creation. Could it be that I’ve read on your website that you are going to write a book about health and crochet. I cannot find the information anymore, but is it true?

  8. Wow! What a great idea and design!! Awesome colors!! Thanks for sharing with us at Fibers on Friday!!

  9. Hi!What an idea! Love the color combination you used. Have a great day!SherrieFood for Thought

  10. Beautiful color combination. Looks like a fun project, thank you for the tutorial.

  11. Great idea! Lovely colors!

  12. Andree its fabulous !!! versatile and cool. and warm! awesome job!

  13. Hi Donatella!Thanks for your lovely comment! Please come back later this week …. a little surprise for you:)

  14. Totally gorgesous!! Beyond beautiful.. loved!! loved!! the idea.. and the colours are sooooooooooooooo pretty!! Thank you for linking to Colours Dekor.. 🙂

  15. I like this, I may have to make one someday.

  16. It’s a shrug, it’s a scarf! It’s GREAT! Thanks for linking to Wicked Awesome Wednesday!

  17. It’s a shrug, it’s a scarf! It’s GREAT! Thanks for linking to Wicked Awesome Wednesday!

  18. Oh Elisabeth- this is the PERFECT and GEOGEOUS convertible piece- you always do such beautiful work. I wish that I had your creativity- you inspire me! 🙂 love it!

  19. This is a very unusual garment. I love the color combinations and your craftsmanship is outstanding!

  20. This really, really, really is brilliant!!!!! I love the stitch, love the concept!!! Be Proud!Blessings, Esther

  21. Great idea. I will be making this. Thanks for sharing.ENJOY!JanyDon’t forget to “Look in the Nook”

  22. Oh, I might just have to try this! Lovely! Thanks for the instructions!

  23. You make me want to learn SO bad!! So pretty!!We will be featuring this on our blog Friday! Please stop by and grab a featured button and get your brag on 😉 You are awesome!! Thanks for sharing and linking up!

  24. Thanks for your sweet comment on my buttons. And no problem at all with writing in English!!!! :-)I lived abroad for quite a bit so I do not mind at all reading or writing in English. (I also have an english blog – I just have not updated it in quite some time. I really have to get back to it!)I also meant to write you a comment here and let you know about the feature … but did not get to it yet. So you were faster and have already discovered it! :-)If you ever need some special buttons … I do not mind shipping outside Germany. ;-)http://en.dawanda.com/shop/CuteliciousI hope I get to check out your site soon. I love crocheting! Just do not have much time on my hands right now. 😦 Have a wonderful day!Ursula

  25. It’s a really cool project. I think I’ll try to make it. thanks for the pattern.

  26. This is awesome! I featured you today in my Friday I’m in Love favorites!http://socialsalutations.blogspot.com/2011/10/friday-im-in-love-time-to-acces…- Jenn @ Social Salutations

  27. This is yummy I wish I was capable!Thanks for linking up to scrappy saturdays last weekend, come on back and link up again! Candace