elisabeth andrée

about crochet

crochet & embroidery

26 Comments

the white crocheted blocks have become a cushion cover. because it’s gray and rainy weather here in the netherlands the white looks grayish too. i hope you still get a good impression of it.

Img_5996
Img_5997
Img_6000
Img_6006
Postzegelimg_6037

Img_5870
Img_5964
Img_5967
Img_5963
Img_5871
Img_5970
Img_5966Img_5965
Img_5969

more information

for the squares, i used different patterns, mostly the centers of patterns for doilies, and for two a pattern for a square. of the round centers i made squares and finally i made ​​all the squares the same size.
the blocks i have decorated with various stitches and eventually joined together with cross stitches. on one side, i crochet loops of different sizes because the vintage buttons are not equal. the buttons are from the 60th and 70th. my mother always saved all the buttons and now i do the same so i got a pile.

used material
  • the white yarn is durable 10
  • the dark gray, yellow and blue yarn is dmc petra 5
  • the soft green is coton crochet 10
  • crochet hook sizes 2 and 2,5
  • embroidery needle

mentioned patterns

this is it
i hope you have a wonderful weekend with lots of sunshine. see you soon!

Img_5975

 

 

 

26 thoughts on “crochet & embroidery

  1. It looks fantastic! So original and so beautiful.

  2. Just lovely! I love the texture of it 🙂

  3. It’s Beautiful!!!

  4. the pillow is gorgeous!

  5. Elisabeth, this is really, really beautiful! I only wished I had paid more attention when we learned embroidery at school, I’d really love to try it! Is this your own idea or have you seen this technique somewhere?I hope you’re doing fine and wish you a happy week-end!

  6. Really, fantastically, dramatically, beautiful!!

  7. Thanks for kind your comment, Barbara.I have over the years, sometimes embroidered, but they were more cross stitch patterns. I’m not crazy about that. When I was making the makeup bags, I started weaving yarn through the stitches, I do not know why, it just happened. I’ve used something similar on my square bag.When I started working with these white blocks, I soon realized I wanted to use another method to attach them to each other and it were cross-stitches. While I was doing this the rest went naturally. Each square “tells” you something different. I have not really used embroidery stitches, I think.I’ve always looked at the embroidery of others, I often find it very inspiring. For more info look at my inspiration post: http://elisabethandree.posterous.com/inspiration-8475. If other crocheters decorate their work in this way, I really do not know.

  8. I adore your pillow. It is so lovely. I’ll have to dust off my crochet needles now Thanks for sharing

  9. Thanks for your reply, Elisabeth! (Have you changed the setting? I’m not getting the follow-up comments via e-mail anymore, but that’s okay)I had a quick look at the embroidery links you’ve posted, thanks for that!Honestly, I think you should try to publish this technique! You know I’ve got this book “Crochet Master Class” and some of the techniques in there are not half as fascinating and beautiful as your embroidery-crochet! I’ve tried to do it today and even with my almost non-existing embroidery skills the little patch looked rather interesting.Thanks again for posting this!

  10. gorgeous…man i want one!

  11. Great idea to combine two techniques. Lovely result!

  12. Wow, fantastic work!, I like how the colors look kind of pastels when near white. Very creative, it’s great what you can come up with when you let your hands flow with the materials you have around 🙂

  13. Wow, It looks great! I will have to make one of these.

  14. I love crochet and this is a beautiful pillow! Great idea! Hope you visit, I’m at AMM.Hugs, FABBY

  15. That is beautiful! Love the idea to make a pillow cover out of them! Thanks for sharing on Fancy This Fridays!!!

  16. Looks absolutely stunning!! thanks for linking in again this week.. I sure look forward to your gorgeous posts.. being linked up!! 🙂

  17. This pillow is so lovely.

  18. Just gasped for breath after seeing this, gorgeous.

  19. That is sooo beautiful. I love the colors and detail Great job!

  20. The pillow turned out so cute! Love it!!Thank you so much for linking up to {nifty thrifty sunday} last week!Your great project has been featured today! ;)I hope to see more of your creativity at this week’s party! xoxo,Vanessa @ {nifty thrifty things}

  21. That is so beautiful! I love seeing others handmade designs! I am following you from the Made It blog hop and I hope you can stop by http://www.pinkpoodlebows.blogspot.com

  22. Featuring you over on my blog today! 🙂 Thank you so much for linking up to my {wow me} wednesday party last week.Ginger @ gingersnapcraftshttp://gingersnapcrafts.blogspot.com/2011/09/take-look-at-you-pillows.html

  23. Hi Ginger,Thank you so much for featuring my pillow on your blog! Alas I can’t post a comment because I don’t have a Google account and I still don’t understand the open ID option (I’am working on it). Maybe you want to post my thank you on your blog on my behalf? I will put your button on my link parties and featured page. Thanks again and I hope you have a great day!

  24. This is SO beautiful. You’ve done a wonderful job. I would love it if you would stop by and share this at my linky party!http://everything-underthemoon.blogspot.com/2011/09/bedazzle-me-monday-1.html

  25. Hi Nikki,Thanks for stopping by and your invitation. I just linked up. Nice party:)Have a great day!

  26. My daughter loves to crochet and embroider – I am soooo sending this post to her. She’ll love it! And PS, I love it too – it’s so pretty with the subtle colors against the white.