elisabeth andrée

about crochet

what now?

30 Comments

it is messy in my head, for different reasons. one of the effects is the amount of projects i’m working on at the same time. the last few weeks i have working on a square bag in the evenings, and then of course there is my summer blanket. he’s probably ready next summer. the makeup bags still need their lining and zippers. i found projects in a box whose existence i had forgotten but they had no longer my motivation and inspiration, like a sweater and a big black bag. 

 

and these things….all white

 

 
dozens of small flowers
mostly try outs and the tiny flowers on the second photo were meant to sew on a scarf, but it did not happen.
Img_5435
Img_5434
Img_5430
Img_5431
Img_5432

 

71 of these flowers
i can not remember why i have made them, i still like them a lot. i’ve foolishly crochet them with an odd number of leaves​​, so unless sewn them on something or crochet rounds (like coasters), i would not know what i could do with them. suggestions are welcome:)
Img_5438
Img_5437
Img_5436

blocks
these squares have all a different center and then i have made ​​squares of them. i’ve written down somewhere how i did that, but i lost my notes. clever isn’t it? i’m thinking about what i can do with these blocks, and i have one or two ideas.
Wit_img_5427
Wit_img_5416
Wit_img_5420
Wit_img_5423
Wit_img_5425

very colorful
Img_5442Img_5440
well, and this is one of my biggest failures … it was meant to be a cosmetic bag or handbag, but everything is wrong with the thing. i get a bit annoyed when i look at him, only the colors i still like.
Img_5439
Img_5445
Img_5449
Img_5451

 

 

i think my language is getting messier too… i’ll be back soon.

 

your comment is like always very welcome!

 

 

30 thoughts on “what now?

  1. Hi Elisabeth,Hope all is well! You can make a nice summer necklace with the big and small white flowers or may be even embellish some plain tee shirts or bags.Tara

  2. I know exactly what you mean about mess in the head with so many projects! I keep adding lately, I can’t seem to stop! Those square are really cool, I love the different centers. And I really like your “failure”, I don’t see how it could be one, it looks really awesome!

  3. I love love that bag. I think it looks great!!!Why dont you like it??

  4. Hello Saritha,Thank you for your kind comment! This is the problem with the bag:He does not look good at the top and it is not possible to restore it. The number of stitches and openings are different on the left and right sides and the openings are not equal at the front and back. I have to rip the gray part and think of something else, actually I need to rip the whole bag because I have the hexagons attached to each other with the same gray and it is not pretty. I only like the hexagons and the colors of them…:) Have a nice day!

  5. Hi Elisabeth, I know these days and I know these moods 🙂 I also think that we all judge our own work more critically than others do (I posted this somewhere else, hope it was not on your blog *gg*). I think the bag is great, for example, but I understand if you’d rather re-do it again, just using the hexagons. That’s what I would do, if I wasn’t happy with the finish. I’ve still got an unfinished clown doll lying around, and I just don’t want to continue, because it looks so ugly that it can hardly be improved :)The white flowers are nice, also – why not use it on another garland? Or maybe as embellishments on one of your vase or flower pot covers? All in white, it would look lovely for a wedding decoration! Maybe your friend in delft is interested?And even if your little fragments won’t have any other purpose – they made lovely pictures to look at!Have a nice day and PS: have you noticed? I’ve finally registered on facebook now 🙂

  6. Your so called failure is so pretty! Maybe a substantial fabric liner would stiffen it up a bit. It has potential! Thank you for linking to Wicked Awesome Wednesday!

  7. Oh my, you’ve got a lot of things going on. I love the flowers and squares, but there’s no way I would be able to do something that small and figure out how to put them all together.

  8. wow! just found your blog through passionately artistic and love it! i bookmarked it, but can’t find the google friend connect to follow you… is just me? anyway. i will follow you one way or another!

  9. I love the white flowers and squares. Very pretty. 🙂

  10. Hello Donatella,Thank you for your enthusiastic response, that is kind of you. I’m not much at home with Google Friends and such, little silly actually.Google Friends Connect and Blogger are both Google’s and my blog is part of Posterous. The only thing I know is that visitors can subscribe to my blog, what I like when someone does:) Anyway, I just think it is great to be able to share my pictures and crochet patterns with other enthusiasts. And I get the impression that you’re one!? Like it that you have come along. Hope you have a nice day!

  11. Hello Donatella,Just a short note: I visited your blog before but I cannot leave a message because I do not meet any of the profiles. I’d like to write about your great arm candies and your new shirt. I think your work is fantastic!

  12. Hi Andree!i had to turn off the “anonymous” commenting because… guess what? i had only two nasty comments and where of course from great cowards ;)thanks anyway! I’m not familiar with posterous, and i’m kind of tech challenged, so i went ‘old style’ and bookmarked you 😉 I have a facebook page maybe we can keep in touch in this way ;)http://www.facebook.com/inspirationrealisationthanks a lot for your compliments, and your crocheted skills are sublimes! i’m about to embrace a BIG crochet project and will post it if- and when – it will be ready (fingers crossed!!)d

  13. Your crochet work looks so pretty. the little white flowers are to die for.

  14. All of these look wonderful to me! I have tried so many times in vain to lear to crochet, and just cannot get past the first stitch! I love the whites!

  15. Thank you so much for your interest in the post Elisabeth, and yes, of course you may use the photograph.lisa.

  16. Hi E! I’m so in love with your white squares! Beautiful! And the rest is also gorgeous, I can see no failure what so ever! 🙂

  17. Ha ha…LOVED your opening admission “…ït is messy in my head!! I can SO relate!! Your crochet pieces are GORGEOUS…just the fact that you know HOW to crochet is HUGE in MY mind! I think starched/stiffened necklaces would be gorgeous!Deborah

  18. thanks for liking me on facebook!d

  19. We all have half finished, laid aside projects like this that haunt us. Your little creations are so lovely though. I can see the white pieces embellishing something – a lamp shade? Incorporated into some design that you frame? I know you will eventually land upon just the right idea. So glad you joined me over at Motivated Monday at BeColorful and I hope to see you back again soon.Pam

  20. Well, I LOVE it! And the colors are gorgeous! Thanks for linking up to Craft and Tell! Ashleywww.cherishedbliss.com

  21. S.T.U.N.N.I.N.G !!!!

  22. You could make a runner for a dinner table with a lot of these, maybe add some more crochet doilies of a different texture for variety. Leave some flat places to set candles and small vases of flowers. Sew them together a little, tack them. Or a round arrangement for a round table. I saw this on a blog somewhere.

  23. Love you. You made it all worth while and have spurred me on.Pam

  24. *sigh*… I cant possibly do this.. really!!You are truly talented.. :-)Patricia Torres   P The environment is our responsibility. Please do not print emails.

  25. I love all of your crochet. It’s so pretty. You could use the squares for a blanket or pillows. They would be lovely.Ruth

  26. Hi Elizabeth,I happened upon your blog by accident but I am happy that I did. I have just started back on crochet after many years. My daughter and i will be taking classes soon I think. I love your flowers! Have you thought of putting them on the side of a hat? That seems to be all the rage now.♥charlotte

  27. Hi Andree,Thanks for your comment! Here is my blog: http://butterbeanrow.blogspot.com/Have a wonderful day! ♥charlotte

  28. Love all of the white crochet! Thanks for linking to the Tuesday To Do Party!Smiles!Jamiwww.blackberryvine.blogspot.com

  29. Love all of the white crochet! Thanks for linking to the Tuesday To Do Party!Smiles!Jamiwww.blackberryvine.blogspot.com

  30. I think the flowers look lovely, you are so clever with your crochet to have made these. The idea of a cover for a cushion is excellent. It’s all about being innovative, and I think you’re doing that well.