elisabeth andrée

about crochet

orange spider bag

26 Comments

orange-spider-bag by elisabeth andrée

question: “how did you make the little ​​orange bag?”

it is about four years since i’ve crochet ​​this orange bag for someone else and i have only a few pictures. fortunately i found my notes from that time. 

you can download the diagram of the stitch pattern yourself, you can find the link below the text. it may be that i have to remove the picture of my blog because of copyright, so please download your own.

 

used materials
i have used a simple kind of cotton and hook size 2,5 mm. my memory fails on the number of skeins but i estimate between 4 and 6.
 
calculate
orange-spider-bag by elisabeth andrée

this is my way to calculate, but everyone will do it on his or her own way. in the diagram you can see that 1 spider is 12 stitches. that number is used for how many spiders you want, the width of your bag (or cushion cover, scarf,…). the diagram clearly indicates which rows you need to crochet in height and width to get a full spider. 

to avoid counting errors, i counted the chains of the diagram = 38 chains and for each extra motif, i added 12 chains. i have made ​​a total of 98 chains for each side of the bag plus 3 chains to start. the bag has 8 spiders in width and 8 spiders in height. 

  • you crochet the two sides together with the right sides facing each other, i have used single crochet
  • for the top edge you can crochet some rows of single crochet
  • for the handles your crochet the number of chains until you have the length you want and then you make single crochet on both sides of the chains until you have the desired width
  • sew the handles onto the bag.
close up of the orange-spider-bag by elisabeth andrée
 

another type of handles

of course you can also make the handles like the handles of the doily into bag. i now prefer those because i think they are prettier and also because these handles are stronger. just measure at the top of your bag where you want the start and end points of the handles and then crochet the number of chains for the length you want (handbag or shoulderbag) and then make the number of rows to get the width you would like.

this is what i can tell you about the orange spider bag, please let me know if you have questions about it.

  1. download diagram for the spiders (pdf)
  2. to tutorial doily into bag (handles) scroll down a bit

 

don’t know how to work with diagram yet?

click on these links and you find all the information you need to read diagrams:  

  1. crochet symbols and terms
  2. how to follow crochet a diagram

orange-spider-bag by elisabeth andrée
orange-spider-bag by elisabeth andrée

 

success and enjoy!
26 thoughts on “orange spider bag

  1. i do so love your blog. it is neat and clean and fascinating. this orange spider bag is tops. i think its waaay over my head, that tricky little spider . . . .x

  2. I like that bag! the pattern is really nice

  3. this is gorgeous!! love the colour. thanks for the instructions 🙂

  4. What a beautiful bag! Thanks so much for the pattern 🙂

  5. Wat prachtig weer! Als ik een keer tijd heb ga ik het een keer proberen. Ik vind het echt heel mooi. Groetjes, Annemarie

  6. Echt een hele leuke tas :-)GroetjesJosé

  7. Echt een hele leuke tas :-)GroetjesJos??

  8. That bag is gorgeous! and your blog looks so lovely too!I would love if you came over and linked this project to my weekly Round Tuit party at:http://jembellish.blogspot.com/ Have a great week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success

  9. Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Jill @ Creating my way to Success

  10. The spider pattern has to be one of my all time favorite ones to crochet! I never would have thought to make a bag with it though – it’s perfect! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Wow, this bag is really cute! Thank you for sharing the pattern! :)Thank you so much for linking to {nifty thrifty things} last week!I hope to see you again tomorrow!xoxo,Vanessa

  12. visiting from A Glimpse Inside- wow! what an amazing bag! I was a little nervous when the title was “spider bag” but it’s super cool & cute! 😀

  13. wow..i love the bag so much..thanks for sharing the pattern!

  14. Love this bag… it’s gorgeous and the colour is fantastic!! 🙂

  15. Hi there- found you through the Sunday Showcase hop and am a new follower. I love the color and shape! We have to bring our own bags to the market, so I would love to make this. I have posted a few fiber projects (and a new one this week). I hope you have time to follow my life in South Africa by http://withoutcomplexities.blogspot.comI hope you had a great weekend!

  16. Bouncy, Click on these links and you find all the information you need to read diagrams.
    Succes!
    http://www.mypicot.com/beta/crochet_symbols_terms.html
    http://www.mypicot.com/beta/follow_crochet_diagram.html

  17. Hello Charlotte,
    Cool idea to make a sort of range. Will you send me a link to your photo’s when they are ready? About the tags: I have searched in the Netherlands to label makers and I could choose a type of label (woven) colors and fonts online. I wanted to have handmade with ElisabethAndrée on them. The labels I can sew or fasten with a sort of pin. Hope this information helps you?
    Success!

  18. I’m afraid I’m having a hard time understanding what you did here. I’m not used to reading diagrams and I’m having trouble figuring out what all your symbols mean. Do you have a key by anychance?

  19. I love this and I am planning on making several. How did you make the little tag???

  20. Do you have the written instructions on how to make your lovely orange bag?? I don’t understand the diagram.

  21. Hello Lori,
    Via these links you will find all the information on working with diagrams. It is really easy.
    http://www.mypicot.com/beta/crochet_symbols_terms.html
    http://www.mypicot.com/beta/follow_crochet_diagram.html

  22. Crochet a beautiful and easy to love this pattern Thanks effort

  23. Crochet a beautiful and easy to love this pattern Thanks effort

  24. @ خياطة وتفصيل : Thanks for stopping by and for writing your comment. I have tried to post a message on your website, but I was unable. Sorry about that!

  25. Love the bag, my favourite colour right now!Thanks for sharing over on Tutorial Thursdays, much appreciated.xNatalie