elisabeth andrée

about crochet

summer blanket – episode 7

41 Comments

an update

it has proved a little bit more complicated project than i had previously thought. this pattern appears to be more painful for my fingers and i need to regularly put it aside for a few days, i am too distracted by other projects and, moreover, i do not have enough of two shades of the yarn… 

i then have crocheted several squares in different other shades and i liked most of them but they did not fit with what i have in mind. eventually i made a choice although i have long doubted the dark gray shade. it’s very nice – i think – but maybe it looks like a handful of liquorice that someone has sprinkled over my blanket.

it is a long term project, i will not quit but if i manage to finish it this summer …?

here are some pictures: 
i made ​​two versions, i can crochet together alternately
Img_4443
Img_4439

these are the squares for which i’ve used different colors of yarn

Img_4461
Img_4445
Img_4450
Img_4449

enjoy your weekend!
Z_img_4459

41 thoughts on “summer blanket – episode 7

  1. Just lovely.

  2. oh yeah, the summer blanket… I don’t want to miss a single episode! Just so beautiful! You said you’ve got the pattern from a japanese crochet book – where did you buy it? All the patterns I like seem to be from japanese crochet books. How do you know which book is good? Where do you search for them?

  3. Hi Barbara, Japanese books can be bought from online booksellers like Amazon Japan, but also through Etsy (this is just one search option: crochet book Japanese: http://www.etsy.com/search/handmade?search_submit=&q=crochet+book+japanese&pa…).It is best to invest some time by reading blogs you like to see what the blogger herself thinks of a book. Lucy of Attic24 is very excited about a book (http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/2010/03/crochet-japanese-style.html). Google for Japanese crochet books and you get piles of information about it (http://www.google.nl/search?q=japanese+crochet+books&hl=nl&client=safari&rls=…). I think almost all Japanese books on crochet are very beautiful and all with schedules what I love. I hope this info helps?Thanks for your kind comment, again:) Have a lovely weekend!

  4. Thank you Annika!

  5. Thanks for the info! As usual, as soon as I posted my question I remembered that we’re living in the information age and so I already started searching a little. I’ve found pompadour24’s shop on Ebay and think it’s quite interesting for the beginning. I’ll try the shop at etsy as well, thanks for the hint! I wish you a wonderful weekend, too!Barbara

  6. Very pretty. I like the color scheme.

  7. Thank you Sarah!

  8. I love the colors! So cute!Thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog as well! :)Have a wonderful start into a new week!Hugs,Vanessa

  9. I think this is one of the most beautiful crochet blankets I’ve seen (and I’ve seen a lot!).Love those Japanese books – endlessly inspiring, if more than a little difficult to understand…

  10. Hello Vera, Thank you for your very kind compliment! I love Japanese books too and I prefer charts/diagrams above written patterns. Japanese books are full of them…if you need some support to understand please let me know?

  11. Such a lovely blanket. The color is very pleasant. Thanks for the comments you left in my blog.

  12. Thank you Pradeepa!

  13. Hello AndreeI never did pick up the blogging award you kindly offered to me, and just wanted to quickly explain why.I'm not comfortable doing a whole post about me, well not so directly about me anyway. So, please don't think I wasn't flattered to be nominated. I very much was. Thanks also for your offer of help in understanding these Japanese books. I'll certainly shout out if I get stuck (although I couldn't work out how to email you directly from your Posterous page, so I'm clearly challenged in many respects!). Vera x

  14. Lovely blanket, and colours are really fresh and summery!

  15. Hello Paula, Thank you for your kind comment!

  16. It’s looking beautiful, I love how muted the colours are, they look very classy🙂

  17. Thank yo Nat, that is very kind of you:)

  18. Wow, that’s going to be stunning when it’s finished. I adore the colours you have used – it’s so elegant.

  19. Hello Carole! Thanks for your compliment, it is nice to read.

  20. Wow – your blanket looks really beautiful – I love the design of the squares and the muted colour scheme!

  21. Very pretty, understandable that it’s a long term project. It looks great though.

  22. This is going to look amazing when it’s finished!

  23. Hi Sam, thank you for your kind comment!

  24. Thank you Clare:)

  25. Hello Sandy, thank you for posting your comment. Like it:)

  26. Thank you Lesley, nice to read your kind words:)

  27. Very lovely, with the muted colors. You could put this blanket anywhere in a home!

  28. Wow, it’s just beautiful! Thanks for participating in WIPW!

  29. This must be my favorite crocheted blanket I’ve ever seen. I love how you are working it in those muted colors!

  30. Hello Marie, Thank you for your kind comment. Thanks for the tip on Yesasia.com, I also noticed that they offer free shipping. Gosh ,you are a Certified Crochet Instructor (Level I) and Certified Crochet Teacher (Level II). You must be good! Have a nice day!

  31. Thank you for your kind words, Jennifer:)

  32. I just found your blog and I think you are amazing. Your things are beautiful and I love this blanket. I love japanese crochet. I agree with Affiknitty. This is my favorite crocheted blanket I’ve ever seen too.

  33. Hello Pam, Thank you for your very kind words, it is lovely to read:) Wish you a nice day!

  34. What pattern book did you purchase? I love this blanket an have a few friends who will be needing some blankets in a few months. I would love to give one of them this blanket. Thanks do much!

  35. @Lexie16: Thanks for stopping by. I did not use a pattern for a blanket, see here: https://elisabethandree.wordpress.com/2011/02/23/new-project-episode-1/

  36. Hello!
    I am making this beautiful blanket for a baby. Can you tell me how you used to attach the squares?
    Thank you very much.

  37. Hi, just wondering how I can get a copy of the stitch diagram for this square. I am expecting my first bub in a couple of weeks and would love this pattern to make a baby blanket! By the way, the colour scheme is beautiful!